Biophysical Ecology Team Staff

Biophysical Ecology Team home page

Eric Danner  Leader
Ecologist
Phone: (831) 420-3917
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: eric.danner@noaa.gov

I am interested in spatial patterns in ecology. My research combines remote sensing and field methods to better understand how physical processes affect the spatiotemporal dynamics of anadromous fish populations. Along with members of the Landscape Ecology Team I am currently developing a regional model for estimating stream temperatures using dynamic remote sensing data, climate data, and static bio- and geophysical data.

TopMore Information

Alex McHuron
Staff Research Associate
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail: alex.mchuron@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Alyssa FitzGerald
Project Scientist
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail: alyssa.fitzgerald@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Andrew Hein
Research Ecologist
Phone: (831) 420-3992
Fax:
E-mail: andrew.hein@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Arnold Ammann
Phone: (831) 420-3968
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: arnold.ammann@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Ben Martin
Research Ecologist
Phone: (831) 420-3665
Fax:
E-mail: benjamin.martin@noaa.gov

Predicting how species will respond to a changing climate is a central challenge in ecology. Species are coupled to their environments through the exchange of matter and energy; however, what they do with energy and materials is ultimately constrained by physiology and biomechanics. My research, therefore, seeks to develop a mechanistic understanding of the processes at the interface of physics and physiology to predict how anadromous fish populations respond to their environments. For example, in Martin et al. (2015 Ecology Letters) we showed how considering the biochemical constraints aerobic and anaerobic metabolic pathways impose on endurance drastically improves our ability to predict the migration behavior of salmon. In another case (Martin et al. 2016 Ecology Letters), our work on how the physics of flow and diffusion limits the supply of oxygen to developing embryos helped explain why salmon embryos in the field have a much lower thermal tolerance than expected from laboratory studies. In both of these studies, isolating the physical and chemical mechanisms through which the environment affects physiology allowed us to predict how salmon are affected by their environments.

TopMore Information

Brendan Lehman
Phone: (831) 420-3951
Fax:
E-mail: brendan.lehman@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Cyril Michel
Staff Research Associate
Phone: (831) 420-3986
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: cyril.michel@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Ethan Mora
Project Scientist
Phone: (831) 420-3663
Fax:
E-mail: ethan.mora@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Flora Cordoleani
Assistant Project Scientist
Phone: (831) 420-3963
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: flora.cordoleani@noaa.gov

My research area focuses on the study of marine biological systems through the use of mathematical models and statistical tools.

I am globally interested in understanding the combined effects of human and/or environmental forcing and biological interactions on the dynamics of marine populations and ecosystems.

TopMore Information

Jeremy Notch
Phone: (831) 420-3990
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: jeremy.notch@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Kathleen Hemeon
Laboratory Assistant
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail: kathleen.hemeon@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Liam Zarri
Graduate Student Researcher
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail: liam.zarri@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Maya Friedman
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail: maya.friedman@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Miles Daniels
Specialist
Phone: (831) 420-3946
Fax:
E-mail: miles.daniels@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Natnael Hamda
Postdoctoral Scholar
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail: natnael.hamda@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Nicholas Demetras
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail: nicholas.demetras@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Nicholas Macias
Graduate Student Researcher
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail:

TopMore Information

Peter Dudley
Postdoctoral Scholar
Phone: (831) 420-3924
Fax:
E-mail: peter.dudley@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Sara John
Phone: (831) 420-3916
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: sara.john@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Travis Apgar
Graduate Student Researcher
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail: travis.apgar@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Vamsi Sridharan
Postdoctoral Scholar
Phone: (831) 420-3905
Fax:
E-mail: vamsi.sridharan@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Whitney Friedman
Postdoctoral Scholar
Phone: (831) 420-3927
Fax:
E-mail: whitney.friedman@noaa.gov

TopMore Information