Salmon Ocean Ecology Team Staff

Salmon Ocean Ecology Team home page

Alex McHuron
Laboratory Assistant
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail: alex.mchuron@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Andrew Hein
Research Ecologist
Phone: (831) 420-3992
Fax:
E-mail: andrew.hein@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Arnold Ammann
Phone: (831) 420-3968
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: arnold.ammann@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Ben Martin
Research Ecologist
Phone: (831) 420-3665
Fax:
E-mail: benjamin.martin@noaa.gov

Predicting how species will respond to a changing climate is a central challenge in ecology. Species are coupled to their environments through the exchange of matter and energy; however, what they do with energy and materials is ultimately constrained by physiology and biomechanics. My research, therefore, seeks to develop a mechanistic understanding of the processes at the interface of physics and physiology to predict how anadromous fish populations respond to their environments. For example, in Martin et al. (2015 Ecology Letters) we showed how considering the biochemical constraints aerobic and anaerobic metabolic pathways impose on endurance drastically improves our ability to predict the migration behavior of salmon. In another case (Martin et al. 2016 Ecology Letters), our work on how the physics of flow and diffusion limits the supply of oxygen to developing embryos helped explain why salmon embryos in the field have a much lower thermal tolerance than expected from laboratory studies. In both of these studies, isolating the physical and chemical mechanisms through which the environment affects physiology allowed us to predict how salmon are affected by their environments.

TopMore Information

Brendan Lehman
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail: brendan.lehman@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Cyril Michel
Staff Research Associate
Phone: (831) 420-3986
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: cyril.michel@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Ily Iglesias
Staff Research Associate
Phone: (831) 420-3970
Fax:
E-mail: ilysa.iglesias@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Jeff Harding
Phone: (831) 420-3938
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: jeff.harding@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Jeremy Notch
Phone: (831) 420-3990
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: jeremy.notch@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Nicholas Demetras
Phone: (831) 420-3923
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: nicholas.demetras@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Whitney Friedman
Laboratory Assistant
Phone:
Fax:
E-mail: whitney.friedman@noaa.gov

TopMore Information