Ecosystem Monitoring Staff

Ecosystem Monitoring home page

Amy Hays
Research Fishery Biologist
Phone: (858) 546-7130
Fax: (858) 546-5651
E-mail: Amy.Hays@noaa.gov

Sea going CalCOFI staff member

Ship survey design and implementation

CalCOFI database management

Early life history of marine fishes and invertebrates

TopMore Information

Dave Griffith
Phone: (858) 546-7155
Fax: (858) 546-5651
E-mail: Dave.Griffith@noaa.gov

Life history strategies of coastal pelagic fish assemblages related to biotic and abiotic factors in the California Current large ecosystem.

Efficacy of underway and stationary ship based sampling systems conducted within the California Current.

TopMore Information

David Demer
Leader, Advanced Survey Technologies Program
Phone: (858) 546-5603
Fax: (858) 546-5652
E-mail: David.Demer@noaa.gov

Development of marine and riverine sampling instruments and methods, and their applications in acoustic-trawl and acoustic-optical investigations of zooplankton and fish stocks, predator-prey interactions, and ecosystems.

TopMore Information

David Murfin
Engineer
Phone: (858) 546-7105
Fax: (858) 546-5651
E-mail: David.Murfin@noaa.gov

Integration of submersible technologies into fisheries research.

Mechanics and Dynamics of Environmental Energy Transport.

TopMore Information

George Cutter
Research Oceanographer
Phone: (858) 546-5691
Fax: (858) 546-5651
E-mail: George.Cutter@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

John Childers
Phone: (858) 546-7192
Fax: (858) 546-5651
E-mail: John.Childers@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Josiah Renfree
Electrical Engineer
Phone: (858) 546-5669
Fax: (858) 546-5652
E-mail: Josiah.Renfree@noaa.gov

Research and development of advanced sampling methods for marine and riverine environments; Automated system control; Data synthesis, integration, and analysis; Fishery-independent surveys of pelagic and demersal communities; Software design for acoustic and survey related applications.

TopMore Information

Juan P. Zwolinski
Research Fisheries Biologist
Phone: (858) 546-5654
Fax: (858) 546-5651
E-mail: juan.zwolinski@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Kevin L. Stierhoff
Research Fisheries Biologist
Phone: (831) 420-3919
Fax: (831) 420-3977
E-mail: Kevin.Stierhoff@noaa.gov

-Habitat ecology of marine organisms

-In situ (ROV) visual surveys of marine benthic habitats and biological communities

-Physiological ecology and early life history (ELH) biology of estuarine and marine fishes

-Effects of hypoxia on estuarine and marine ecosystems

TopMore Information

Scott A. Mau
Research Fisheries Biologist
Phone: (858) 546-5645
Fax: (858) 546-7062
E-mail: Scott.Mau@noaa.gov

-Ecology of fishes

-Recruitment to fish populations

-Use of remote sensing techniques for monitoring populations of invertebrates and fishes

TopMore Information

Steve Sessions
Operations Manager/ Equipment Specialist
Phone: (858) 546-7097
Fax: (858) 546-5651
E-mail: Steve.Sessions@noaa.gov

TopMore Information

Sue Manion
Fishery Biologist
Phone: (858) 546-7143
Fax: (858) 546-5651
E-mail: Sue.Manion@noaa.gov

TopMore Information