California Current Marine Mammal Assessment Program Staff

Jeffrey Moore, Program Leader, EEZ Mammals and Acoustics 

Southwest Fisheries Science Center 
(858)-546-7161  
Jeffrey.E.Moore@noaa.gov

Vertebrate population dynamics, fisheries impacts on marine populations, quantitative ecology, protected species management and  conservation
  

Karin Forney 

Southwest Fisheries Science Center   
(831)-771-4155 
Karin.Forney@noaa.gov

Aerial Line-Transect surveys, Cetacean Abundance and Population Trends, Environmental Models of Cetacean Distribution, Fishery Bycatch, Marine Mammal Stock Assessments

Jim Carretta
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
(858)-546-7171
Jim.Carretta@noaa.gov

Research Vessel Line-Transect Surveys, Marine Mammal Stock Assessments, Bycatch Estimation, Machine-Learning Methods   

Shannon Rankin 
Southwest Fisheries Science Center 

(858)-546-7072 
Shannon.Rankin@noaa.gov

Cetacean Bioacoustics, Acoustic Line-Transect Surveys, Array-Building, Discoverer of Minke Whale 'Boing' Sound 

Mark Lowry
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
(858)-546-7174
Mark.Lowry@noaa.gov  

Pinniped Censusing, Aerial Photogrammetry, Sea Lion Diet Studies 

Elizabeth Becker
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
Phone: (805) 680-3374
E-mail: ebecker77@cox.net

Predictive Habitat-Based Models of Cetacean Density, Oceanographic Correlates of Cetacean Abundance and Distribution

K. Alexandra Curtis
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
(858)-546-5625
Alex.Curtis@noaa.gov

Fisheries and Ecosystem Management, Assessing Fisheries Impacts on Marine Megafauna, Computer-Intensive Statistics, Characterization of Uncertainty.

 

Emily T. Griffiths
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
(858)-334-2864  
emily.griffiths@noaa.gov

Cetacean Bioacoustics and Species Identification, Detection and Localization, Acoustic Range and Population Surveys, Acoustic Equipment Building and (more often) Troubleshooting.  

Beth Jaime
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
(858)-546-7181
Beth.Jaime@noaa.gov

Channel Islands Pinniped Photogrammetry  

Taiki Sakai
Southwest Fisheries Science Center 
(858)-334-2871
Taiki.Sakai@noaa.gov

Cetacean Bioacoustics, Statistics, and Many Other Things




Last modified: 11/16/2017